Category Archives: Uncategorized

New publication: Using DNA metabarcoding for water quality assessment

In a just-released article in the journal Methods in Ecology and Evolution, we investigate the potential of DNA metabarcoding of freshwater macroinvertebrates for the assessment of stream health. With the “DNA metabarcoding” method hundreds of specimen in a sample can be identified, often up to species level. The assessment results of the morphology and DNA based methods were very similar with both methods, while DNA metabarcoding  detected more taxa on species level. However, metabarcoding has also shortcomings, for example, the method  failed to detect ~ 30% of the taxa identified by morphology. This work is an important step into validation and improvement of the metabarcoding method, and it highlights it’s potential for more rapid and accurate routine monitoring of freshwater streams.

Picture 1: Vasco Elbrecht, Edith Vamos and Florian Leese (from left to right),  in cooperation with Kristian Meissner and Jukka Aroviita from the Finnish Environment institute, analysed 18 monitoring samples from Finnish streams.

Additionally, our R package PrimerMiner was featured on the cover page of the journal Methods in Ecology and Evolution.

Picture 2: The cover picture in Methods in Ecology and Evolution shows a macroinverterte sample which is homogenised using liquid nitrogen and a mortar, in order to extract the DNA from the sample.

Science meets Education

… during the international conference of “Polar Educators International” in Italy, or actually they met. For the scientific input Jana Dömel was invited to lead a workshop on genetic analyses.

During the scientific year 2016*17 Seas and Oceans the aim of the project “MEERwert. Polare Biodiversität.” (The value of the sea. Polar biodiversity.; www.meer-wert.info) is to introduce schools and anyone else who is interested to genetic methods that help us to discover the biological variety of the polar regions. In addition to the already freely available “Extraction box”, that includes all material needed for a DNA extraction of e.g. fish fingers, we designed further worksheets to present at the workshop. (The Extraction box will be send to you on request. Contact: jana.doemel@uni-due.de)

Foto: Jana supports the workshop’s participants with the genetic working sheets, that involve a lot of hands on (the computer) work.

During the conference teachers, but also scientists worked on two working sheet that introduce the basics for DNA analyses and were asked to improve the exercises from a didactical perspective. To start, fish sequences are compared to a database to find out species names. Subsequently, phylogenetic trees are reconstructed to solve the origin and relationships between fish of the so called „cod“ fishes.

We got very positive feedback, which confirmed that our project is of great educational interest.

New project: eDNA of the “Emscher sculpin”

We are starting a new project:

Gunnar Jacobs (who is also working for Emschergenossenschaft, the local water board) starts his PhD thesis.  He will investigate the occurrence, distribution and dispersal ability of the “Emscher sculpin” (Cottus cf. rhenanus) in the river Emscher and its tributaries.

The Emscher sculpin is a fish which survived the major industrial pollution of rivers in the Emscher catchment during the last 100 years in the upper reaches of a few streams. Specimens from these relic populations are now used to repopulate ecologically restored streams and rivers in the region.

Gunnar will use eDNA (environmental DNA) to study the occurrence and distribution of the Emscher sculpin and how fast it can disperse and repopulate streams after the reintroduction. Using eDNA means that that Gunnar will filter water from the stream and analyze the sculpin DNA in it, which also means that he does not need to catch the fishes. Gunnar’s work will greatly help to understand the Emscher sculpin and the Emscher ecosystem and to subsequently make protection of the ecosystem easier.

Welcome, Gunnar! We are looking forward to the exciting project!

 

Cottus IMG_3417

New paper: Drastic underestimation of amphipod biodiversity in the endangered Irano-Anatolian and Caucasus biodiversity hotspots

Together with colleagues from the University of Tehran, we just published a paper on the diversity of amphipods in the highly endangered Irano-Anatolian and Caucasus biodiversity hotspots. So far, only five morphospecies had been known from the streams and rivers of these regions. By using molecular techniques, we could identify 42 mostly unknown species, showing that also the scarcely studied freshwater ecosystems of the region harbour a great biodiversity and deserve protection.

Scientific Reports: Drastic underestimation of amphipod biodiversity in the endangered Irano-Anatolian and Caucasus biodiversity hotspots

Florian on the radio

Florian was recently interviewed by Radio Leonardo. He talked about how new molecular tools can help to revolutionize and improve ecological water quality assessment of streams and rivers.

Link to the interview (podcast 25.02.2015, Florian’s part starts at minute 25):
http://www1.wdr.de/mediathek/audio/wdr5/wdr5-leonardo/leonardo302.html

Kategorie-Archiv: Uncategorized

Neue Veröffentlichung: DNA basierte Gewässerbewertung

In einem kürzlich in der Fachzeitschrift Methods in Ecology and Evolution erschienenem Artikel haben wir das Potenzial DNA-basierter Methoden für das Routinemonitoring von Fließgewässern getestet. Mit der „DNA-Metabarcoding“-Methode können Hunderte bentische Invertebraten in einer Probe auf einmal bestimmt werden. Die Bewertungsergebnisse zwischen morphologischen und DNA basierten Methoden sind sehr ähnlich, wobei mit Metabarcoding mehr Tiere auf Artniveau bestimmt werden konnten. Dennoch zeigt unsere Studie auch noch existierende Schwächen der neuen DNA-Metabarcoding auf: Etwa 30% der morphologisch identifizierten Tiere konnten nicht entdeckt detektiert werden. Dies kann auf den noch unvollständigen Referenz-Gendankenbanken beruhen, Resultat von Fehlbestimmungen oder „Primer bias“ sein. Unsere Arbeit ist ein wichtiger Schritt in der Methoden-Valiedierung und zeigt das Potential von DNA Metabarcoding im Routinemonitoring.

Foto 1: Vasco Elbrecht, Edith Vamos und Florian Leese (von links nach rechts) haben zusammen mit Kristian Meissner und Jukka Aroviita vom Finnischem UmweltinstitutSYKE  insgesamt 18 Monitoring Proben aus Finnland molekular und Morphologie-basiert untersuchet.

Außerdem hat es die von uns entwickelte Bioinformatik software PrimerMiner (im selben journal erschienen) diesen Monat auf das journal cover von Methods in Ecology and Evolution geschafft.

Foto 2: Das Cover-Foto von Methods in Ecology and Evolution Zeigt eine Makroinvertertebraten Probe welche mit Hilfe von Flüssig-Stickstoff und einem Mörser homogenisiert wird um die DNA Extraktion zu ermöglichen.

Science meets Education

Unter diesem Motto wurde Jana Dömel dazu eingeladen auf der internationalen Tagung von “Polar Educators International” in Italien einen Workshop zu leiten.

Das Projekt “MEERwert. Polare Biodiversität.” (www.meer-wert.info) hat sich im Rahmen des Wissenschaftsjahrs 2016*17 vorgenommen Schülern und anderen Interessenten genetische Methoden für die Erforschung der biologischen Vielfalt der Polarmeere näher zu bringen und zugänglich zu machen. Neben der Entwicklung eines “Extraktionskoffers”, der alle Materialen für eine DNA-Extraktion aus z.B. Fischstäbchen beinhält und auf Anfrage (Kontakt: jana.doemel@uni-due.de) kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt wird, motivierte die Einladung zum Workshop zur Erarbeitung von weiterem Lehrmaterial.

Foto: Jana hilft den Teilnehmern des Workshops die Arbeitsblätter zum Thema Genetik zu bearbeiten.

Während der Konferenz konnten sich nun Lehrer aber auch Wissenschaftler durch zwei Arbeitsblätter durcharbeiten und Verbesserungsvorschläge von der didaktischen Seite hinzufügen. Die Arbeitsblätter vermitteln die Grundlagen der DNA-Analyse, indem Sequenzen von Fischen mit einer Datenbank abgeglichen und am Beispiel der Dorsche (oder zumindest der Fische die „Dorsche“ genannt werden) Stammbäume zur Klärung von Herkunft und Verwandtschaft der Fische erstellt. Die Resonanz war sehr positiv und hat uns bestärkt, dass unser Projekt von großem schulischen Interesse ist.

Neues Projekt: eDNA in Ruhr und Möhne

Am vergangenen Samstag waren wir an Ruhr und Möhne unterwegs, um die ersten Proben für ein weiteres neues Projekt zu nehmen. In den kommenden Monaten werden Florian und Jan untersuchen, wie sich aus dem Flusswasser gefilterte DNA (eDNA, environmental DNA) nutzen lässt, um die Artengemeinschaft in Ruhr und Möhne zu ermitteln.

5 3 2

Neues Projekt: eDNA der „Emschergroppe“

Wir starten ein neues Projekt:

Gunnar Jacobs von der Emschergenossenschaft startet eine Doktorarbeit, in der er das Vorkommen, die Verbreitung und die Ausbreitungsfähigkeit der Emschergroppe (Cottus cf. rhenanus) in der Emscher und ihren Zuflüssen untersucht.

Die Emschergroppe ist ein Fisch, von dem kleine Populationen die extreme industrielle Verschmutzung der Gewässer im Ruhrgebiet während der letzten 100 Jahre in wenigen Bachoberläufen überlebt haben. Exemplare aus diesen Reliktpopulationen werden nun in renaturierten Gewässern des Emschmersystems ausgesetzt, um eine Wiederbesiedlung zu erreichen.

Gunnar wird eDNA (environmental DNA, = Umwelt-DNA) nutzen, um das Vorkommen und die Verbreitung der Emschergroppe sowie die Geschwindigkeit der Wiederbesiedlung verschiedener Gewässer nachzuweisen. Die Nutzung von eDNA bedeutet, dass Gunnar Wasser aus einem Gewässer filtern und die darin enthaltene DNA der Emschergroppe im Labor nachweisen und analysieren wird. Die Fische müssen nicht mehr gefangen werden. Gunnars Arbeit wird dazu beitragen, die Emschergroppe und das „Ökosystem Emscher“ besser zu verstehen und Schutzmaßnahmen zu planen.

Willkommen, Gunnar! Wir freuen uns auf das spannende Projekt!

Cottus IMG_3417

Neues Paper: Hohe Biodiversität von Amphipoden in den Irano-Anatolischen und Kaukasus- Biodiversitäts-Hotspots

Gemeinsam mit Kollegen der Universität Teheran haben wir im Fachmagazin Scientifc Reports einen Artikel über die Diversität von Amphipoden in den hochgradig bedrohten Irano-Anatolischen und Kaukasus- Biodiversitäts-Hotspots veröffentlicht. Bislang waren aus den Bächen und Flüssen der Region nur fünf Arten von Amphipoden bekannt. Mittels molekularer Methoden konnten wir diese Zahl deutlich erhöhen und 42 Arten identifizieren. Dies zeigt, dass auch die wenig erforschten Fließgewässer der Region eine hohe Biodiversität beherbergen und dringend Schutz benötigen.

Scientific Reports: Drastic underestimation of amphipod biodiversity in the endangered Irano-Anatolian and Caucasus biodiversity hotspots

Florian im Radio

Florian wurde kürzlich von Radio Leonardo interviewt und berichtete, wie neue molekulare Methoden helfen, die ökologische Bewertung von Fließgewässern zu revolutionieren und zu verbessern.

http://www1.wdr.de/mediathek/audio/wdr5/wdr5-leonardo/leonardo302.html