Category Archives: Video

Conference video: Metabarcoding primer development

We have presented our latest research in DNA metabarcoding and primer development at the annual meeting for freshwater science in Sacramento. A YouTube video is available below, with a PrePrint also being available here.

We are currently focusing on development and optimisation of DNA metabarcoding primers. As part of this process we have developed the R package “PrimerMiner” (GitHub) which can be used to obtain and process sequence data from BOLD and NCBI databases.

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 14.40.04

Video Tutorial: How we dry and grind samples for DNA metabarcoding!

The first step for DNA metabarcoding of invertebrate kick samples from stream ecosystems is sample homogenisation. The samples often contain hundreds of organisms which have to be dried and then homogenised, to assure that the DNA of all specimens in mixed. Only then every individual in the sample can be detected, extracting just a small subset of the ground tissue. We are using the IKA ULTRA-TURRAX Tube Drive control system for tissue grinding, as discussed in a previous video. In this new video we are detailing the complete process from sample handling, drying over night and grinding using invertebrate kick samples from Finland.

DNA metabarcoding talks in Bonn and Landau + Video

In January, Vasco Elbrecht was invited to present our latest DNA metabarcoding results at the Museum Koenig (Bonn) and the University of Landau. The talk held in Landau is available on YouTube.
The presented projects will be summited for publication shortly, but we are happy to share primers and information per E-Mail.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 13.40.59

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 13.45.15Photo: Vasco Elbrecht in front of the Savanna landscape at the museum Koenig.

Kategorie-Archiv: Video

Konferenz video: Metabarcoding Primer Entwicklung

In Sacramento haben wir der diesjährigen Konferenz der Society for freshwater Science SFS unsere neusten Forschungsergebnisse zum DNA Metabarcoding vorgestellt. Ein video der presentation ist in Englischer Sprache auf YouTube zu finden.

Insbesondere das Primer-development-tool PrimerMiner wurde vorgestellt, welches als R package auf GitHub erhältlich ist. Zusätzlich ist kürzlich zu entsprechendem Package ein PrePrint als vorab Veröffentlichung erschienen.

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 14.40.04

Video: Trocknen und Homogenisieren von Umweltproben

Mit der im Leeselab entwickelten DNA Metabarcoding-Methode können Hunderte von Invertebraten aus Umweltproben sicher identifiziert werden. Die Tiere werden mit einem Netz von der Gewässersohle gesammelt („Kick-sampling“). Für die weitere Bearbeitung im Labor ist eine Trocknung der in Ethanol gelagerten Tiere notwendig. Danach werden die Proben in einem Homogenisator fein zermahlen. Bereits ein kleiner Teil dieses feinen Pulvers reicht aus, um DNA von allen in der Probe vorhandenen Individuen zu erhalten und sie folglich über unsere DNA Metabarcoding-Methoden zu identifizieren.

Wir zeigen in folgendem Video, wie wir Invertebraten-Proben bei uns im Labor trocknen und homogenisieren. Derzeit bearbeiten wir Proben aus Finnland, welche dort zur Gewässerbewertung genutzt wurden. Ein weiterer Beitrag zu dieser Methode ist kürzlich im Radio (wdr5) erschienen.

DNA metabarcoding Vorträge in Bonn und Landau! + Video

Im Januar wurde Vasco Elbrecht ins Museum Koenig (Bonn) und die Uni Landau eingeladen, um über aktuelle DNA Metabarcoding-Forschungsergebnisse aus dem Leeselab vorzutragen. Der Vortrag aus Landau ist in Englischer Sprache auf YouTube verfügbar.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 13.40.59

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 13.45.15Foto: Vasco Elbrecht vor der Savannen-Landschaft im Museum Koenig (Bonn).