Category Archives: Vortrag

DNAqua-Net Kick-Off conference

Since November 2016, Florian leads the large EU COST Action Network DNAqua-Net. As the Grant Manager of the Action, Alexander is the responsible coordinator of the network which already now encompasses 300 researchers, end user, managers & regulators as well as industry partners from 42 nations.

The aim of the COST Action DNAqua-Net is to explore the potential of novel DNA-based methods for bioassessment of aquatic ecosystems (lakes, rivers, oceans, groundwater) and to suggest standardised application strategies. These can only be successful in large-scale monitoring programs, such as the EU Water Framework Directive, if researchers within the scientific community agree on clear standards and work together with partners from the environmental regulators and industry partners.

Just now, from March 6th until 9th, we have hosted the Kick-Off conference of DNAqua-Net in Essen. 172 participants from 37 nations met at the Campus of our University to discuss in a highly constructive atmosphere chances and limits of the novel techniques. Some impression from the conference as well as the preceding Management Committee meeting can be found  here.

DNAqua-Net conference participants

DNA metabarcoding talks in Bonn and Landau + Video

In January, Vasco Elbrecht was invited to present our latest DNA metabarcoding results at the Museum Koenig (Bonn) and the University of Landau. The talk held in Landau is available on YouTube.
The presented projects will be summited for publication shortly, but we are happy to share primers and information per E-Mail.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 13.40.59

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 13.45.15Photo: Vasco Elbrecht in front of the Savanna landscape at the museum Koenig.

Talk by Míklos Bálint

Miklos Blind from the Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre (BiK-F) in Frankfurt gave a talk in the Molecular Ecology and Evolution Colloquium, organised by our group and the biodiversity working group (AG Boenigk). He presented data on the high-throughput ecology of fungal-plant interactions as inferred by metabarcoding.
We’d like to thank Miki for the excellent talk and the discussions.

 

IMG_1706

Foto: Miki Bálint giving his talk.

Kategorie-Archiv: Vortrag

DNAqua-Net Auftaktveranstaltung

Florian leitet seit November 2016 offiziell das große EU COST-Netzwerk DNAqua-Net. Alexander ist als Grant Manager der verantwortliche Koordinator des Netzwerks, welches aus bislang 300 Forschern, Industriepartnern sowie Vertretern öffentlicher Einrichtungen besteht.

Ziel der COST Action DNAqua-Net ist es, das Potenzial moderner DNA-basierter Methoden zur Erfassung des ökologischen Zustands von Wasserökosystemen (Seen, Flüsse, Meere, Grundwasser) zu erkunden und standardisierte Anwendungsroutinen zu entwickeln. Dies kann nur dann erfolgreich in große internationale Umweltgesetzeswerke (z.B. EU Wasserrahmenrichtlinie) eingebunden werden, wenn über die Grenzen der wissenschaftlichen Community hinaus verbindliche Standards und Qualitätssicherungsstrategien vereinbart werden.

Die Auftaktveranstaltung dieser COST-Action fand vom 6.-9. März an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. 172 Vertreter aus 37 Nationen waren auf dem Campus vertreten und haben in extrem konstruktiver Atmosphäre Chancen und Herausforderungen der Techniken diskutiert. Bilder zu der Veranstaltung gibt es hier.

DNAqua-Net conference participants

DNA metabarcoding Vorträge in Bonn und Landau! + Video

Im Januar wurde Vasco Elbrecht ins Museum Koenig (Bonn) und die Uni Landau eingeladen, um über aktuelle DNA Metabarcoding-Forschungsergebnisse aus dem Leeselab vorzutragen. Der Vortrag aus Landau ist in Englischer Sprache auf YouTube verfügbar.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 13.40.59

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 13.45.15Foto: Vasco Elbrecht vor der Savannen-Landschaft im Museum Koenig (Bonn).

Vortrag von Míklos Bálint

Míklos Bálint, vom Biodiversität und Klima-Forschungszentrum BiK-F in Frankfurt, hat am Dienstag im Rahmen des von uns und der AG Biodiversität (Boenigk) organisierten Kolloquiums and der Uni Duisburg-Essen einen Vortrag über ‚Hochdurchsatz-Ökologie‘ gehalten. Insbesondere präsentierte Miki Ergebnisse zum Metabarcoding von Pilz Gemeinschaften auf Blättern. Wir bedanken uns bei Miki für seinen Besuch und die spannenden Diskussionen!

 

IMG_1706

Foto: Miki Bálint bei seinem Vortrag.